Xinja and COVID

Hi, not sure exactly where to post this so please forgive me if this isn’t the right category.
Obviously these are economically crazy times. Major companies are crumbling and laying off masses of employees. I have limited knowledge of how banks operate commercially so please correct me if I get this wrong. My guess is that banks like Xinja (who don’t yet offer loans and have very few fees) would take the money that people deposit into them and invest it in the stockmarket to make their profit.
With the stockmarket being SO volatile right now that seems disconcerting.
If the stockmarket were to crash would Xinja still be viable?
With Xinja offering Stash accounts allowing deposits up to $250k would customers with large amounts of money in a Stash account be exposed to this risk?
I understand that Xinja customers qualify for the Aus Gov Guarantee but I for one would rather not be relying on that when it comes to large sums of money.
Thanks in advance for your information.

2 Likes

Hey @Foz and welcome :_ninja_emojis_lblue_01: To put your mind at rest, Xinja is NOT investing deposits money in the stock market. Typically banks don’t do that incidentally and our risk framework would not allow us to do so!! You’re right - the best thing to do with deposits is to lend them out in the form of loans - that’s classic banking - and we don’t have lending yet. We are investing some of the money in lower return but much lower risk investments, ie: government bonds and other banks but that is all. We’re planning on launching lending mid year, so we will start to do that instead then. Also, on the $250k guarantee, in the very unlikely event of it being needed by customers of Xinja (or any other bank for that matter), it doesn’t make a difference how much you have in your account - the government will pay (up to max of $250k per customer) and would not discriminate against those with larger amounts.

4 Likes